Ministries since 1867.

71. There have only been two changes of Government and three Ministries since Confederation, and with the exception of from 7th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John A. Macdonald has been in power during the whole period.

Departmental changes.

72. In 1879 a Bill was passed dividing the office of the Minister of Public Works, the new Department assuming exclusive control of Railways and Canals; and in the same Session the office of Receiver-General was abolished.

Cabinet Ministers

73. The following are the names of members from time to since 1867, time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments:-

LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION. FIRST MINISTER

FIRST MINISTRY.			
Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Minister of Justice and Attorney-General	Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, G.C.B. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, G.C.B. Hon. Sir A. T. Galt "Sir John Rose "Sir Francis Hincks	July July Nov.	1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867 30, 1867 9, 1869
Minister of Public Works Minister of Militia and Defence	" Sir S. L. Tilley	July Dec. July	22, 1873 1, 1867 9, 1869 1, 1867 1, 1873
Minister of Customs	Hon, Sir S. L. Tilley Sir Charles Tupper	July Feb.	1, 1867 22, 1873
Minister of Agriculture.	Hon. J. C. Chapais C. Dunkin J. H. Pope	July Nov. Oct.	1, 1867 16, 1869 25, 1871
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. Sir A. Campbell		1, 1867 1, 1873
		July	1, 1867
	Hon. W. P. Howland. " A. Morris " Sir Charles Tupper. " John O'Connor " T. M. Gibbs	Nov. July Mar.	1, 1867 16, 1869 2, 1872 4, 1873 1, 1873
Minister of Interior	Hon. Sir A. Campbell	July	1, 1873